Hot Dog Chili

Yeah that’s right, no canned stuff here! This recipe actually is not a new one to me, but I thought I’d share anyway. About a year ago, James and I watched a show on the Food Network about the best hot dogs across America. So many people raved about this place Pink’s in California and said it was their chili that made it so great. So I looked online and found a recipe that was supposed to be similar to theirs. If it is or not, I can’t say since I’ve never had the real deal. But this is a good one. Sorry, it’s been a long time so I can’t divulge the source of this recipe but I will say that it is not a Christen original. Once you have it though, you’ll never go back to the canned junk!

Chili for Hot Dogs

1 pound ground beef
1 clove garlic, minced
1 medium onion, chopped
1/2 (6-ounce) can tomato paste
1 1/2 cups water
1 teaspoon vinegar
1 teaspoon Worcestershire sauce
Salt, pepper
1/8 teaspoon cinnamon
1 tablespoon chili powder
1/2 teaspoon cumin

Brown beef, garlic and onion in skillet. Cook until tender. Place portion at a time in blender and blend a few seconds.

Put meat mixture back into pot and add tomato paste, water, vinegar, Worcestershire and salt and pepper to taste. Add cinnamon, chili powder, and cumin.

Bring to a boil and reduce heat to simmer at least 30 minutes.

Stir occasionally and add a small amount more water if needed.

Hot Dog With All The Fixins

Hot Dog Chili

Verdict: Like I said, this is not new to us but oh so good! We both love it. We’ll never buy another can of chili! A note though, for anyone with an immersion mixer – those work superb in this recipe!

Leave a comment