Butternut Squash Ravioli with Browned Butter Sage Sauce

A couple of weeks ago (whew am I behind in blogging!) I went down South to visit my parents.  Before heading back home, I stopped off at Whole Foods to pick up something quick and easy for dinner.  I settled on the butternut squash and already knew I’d want it with a browned butter sage sauce I’d heard so much about.

A quick Google led me to a list of recipes and I picked the one that looked super easy.  That’s how I roll.  After 3 hours in a car with a 3-year-old, I was not in the mood for something lengthy!  This didn’t disappoint and I’m really glad that I doubled the recipe, since my husband and I are pigs.  We ate it all.  That’s how good it was.  I’ll include the single version though.  And since no stores near me sell butternut squash ravioli, I guess I’ll just have to ask Santa to bring me a pasta attachment for my mixer (affectionately known as Sir Mix a Lot) so I can make my own.  Hear that, Santa?  Seriously though, this recipe is GREAT and it’s so dang easy.  Winner!

Butternut Squash Ravioli with Browned Butter Sage Sauce
Recipe adapted from: Emeril Live

Ingredients:
1 pkg butternut squash ravioli, cooked in boiling water just until it floats up.
1 stick butter
12 fresh sage leaves
Parmesan cheese, cooked and crumbled bacon and chopped walnuts for serving (optional)

Instructions:
In a large skillet, melt the butter then add the sage leaves.  Cook over medium heat (to med-low), stirring until the butter turns brown.  Remove from heat and toss with the ravioli.  Top with freshly shredded Parmesan cheese, bacon crumbles and chopped walnuts, if desired.

Butternut Squash Ravioli with Browned Butter Sage Sauce

2 responses to “Butternut Squash Ravioli with Browned Butter Sage Sauce

  1. Oh my heavens…that sauce sounds amazing! I have some butternut squash ravioli from TJ’s and this is what’s going on it!

  2. this looks beautiful! I can’t wait to try it. I am OBSESSED with butternut squash and brown butter.

Leave a comment