Peanut Butter Buttercream Icing

My name is Christen and I’m a peanut butter addict.  I come by my addiction honestly, it seems to be genetic.  My dad and brother both share my love for this sweet condiment.  As soon as I conjured up the plans to make this cake, I was thinking about how perfect it would be as a Father’s Day dessert.

I actually tried a new cake recipe to go with the icing, but it was nothing to write home about.  I’m yet to find  a homemade cake recipe that I like, I find the box mixes are just more moist.  If you have a good homemade one then let me know, I’ll try it out.  But in the meantime, I’ll just keep making this fabulous icing and slapping it on my box mix cakes 🙂

Special Note:  I doubled the recipe for the icing/frosting.  Below is the doubled recipe.

Chocolate Cake with Peanut Butter Buttercream Icing

Peanut Butter Buttercream Icing
Recipe from Barefoot Contessa

Ingredients:
2.5 cups powdered sugar
2 cups creamy peanut butter (I used Planters brand)
2 sticks butter, softened/room temperature
2 tsp vanilla extract
1/2 tsp kosher salt
2/3 cup heavy cream

Combine all ingredients in a large bowl or the bowl of a mixer.  Mix on medium-low speed until well-mixed and fluffy.  Make sure to scrape the sides and bottom of the bowl with a rubber spatula.  Spread on cake as desired.

Leave a comment