Blueberry Cake Doughnuts

Have you ever had blueberry cake doughnuts?  I had never had them prior to moving to our current town but soon after arriving here, my husband bought some from one of the supermarkets in town.  Holy bananas those suckers were GOOD!!!  Unfortunately, they soon quit selling them.  Why is beyond me, because everyone loved them! 

I had most of a pint of blueberries remaining from my red, white and blue tart so I decided to finish it off with the doughnuts.  I have to say, it was harder than I thought it would be.  The dough never climbed the hook like the recipe said it would.  After sitting in the refrigerator, it was still very sticky, so I just kept adding flour and mixing by hand until it was no longer sticky and I could work with it.  Instead of using a rolling pin, I just pressed it out by hand.  I was unsure how it would be because it was a very unappetizing gray color batter.  However, after frying they were perfection!  Lots of work….sure….but once in a while it’s nice to have a treat 🙂

Blueberry Cake Doughnuts
Recipe from:  DivineRecipes.com

Ingredients:
2 tbsp solid vegetable shortening
1 cup sugar
2 eggs
1 cup buttermilk
1 pint blueberries
1 tsp vanilla extract
4 cups all-purpose flour, plus more if yours is sticky!
1 pinch salt
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
Glaze:
milk
2 cups powdered sugar

Method:
In the bowl fo a mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, cream together the shortening and the sugar.  Add the eggs, one at a time.  Slowly add the buttermilk and vanilla with the machine running.  Switch to the dough hook and add the blueberries.

In a separate bowl, sift the flour, salt, baking powder and baking soda together.  Add 1 cup at a time to the blueberry mixture until it makes a smooth ball and climbs the hook (this never happened for me).  Place in a greased bowl, turn over once and cover with plastic wrap.  Refrigerate for 1 hour.

Preheat fryer to 325.  Roll dough 1/2 inch thick then cut in doughnut shapes.  Fry until golden and drain well on paper towels.

For the glaze:  Mix the powdered sugar with a VERY small bit of milk at a time until it’s thin enough to dip the doughnuts in, but thick enough to coat them well.

Blueberry Cake Doughnuts

Leave a comment