Slow-Cooker Pepperoncini Beef Sandwiches

Have you ever noticed that some things just make your mouth water?  While perusing the Crockpot365 blog, I spotted a post for pepperoncini beef sandwiches and when I saw the picture, my mouth watered.  And I made it two days later.

I have to say this is one of the easiest dishes ever.  Doesn’t hurt that it tastes awesome and is pretty cheap to make!  I added a few things because if you can believe it, the recipe only calls for two things.  I’ll write the recipe as I made it and put my add-ins as “optional.”  I was a little worried that it would taste too tangy with all that pepperoncini and juice, but it wasn’t at all, it was absolutely perfect.  And the leftovers are even better. You can even put the meat in frozen.  I have a feeling this will be in our regular rotation!

Slow-Cooker Pepperoncini Beef Sandwiches
Recipe adapted from:  A Year of Slow Cooking

Ingredients:
1 2-lb. beef chuck roast
1 (16 oz.) jar whole pepperoncini peppers
5 baby bella mushrooms, sliced (optional)
1 yellow onion, chopped (optional)
1 packet dry Lipton’s Beefy Onion Soup Mix (optional)
1/4 cup wine (optional)
buns
sliced provolone cheese (optional)

Method:
Spray a crockpot bowl with nonstick spray.  If using onions, place half of them on the bottom of the bowl.  Place the chuck roast on top of the onions and empty the jar of pepperoncini peppers on top.  Place the sliced mushrooms and the rest of the onions on top.  In a small bowl, mix the dry soup mix with just enough wine (or water if you don’t have wine) to where it is well combined.  Cook on LOW for 8 hours (may want to go 10 if using frozen beef).

When cooked, shred with two forks.  Serve on buns topped with cheese.  I put ours under the broiler for a little bit to melt the cheese.  But maybe left too long….see pic.  😉

Slow-Cooked Pepperoncini Beef Sandwich

5 responses to “Slow-Cooker Pepperoncini Beef Sandwiches

  1. Did you use red wine or white? Thanks!

    • christenandjames

      I used white, simply because that’s what I had handy. Red would probably be better since it’s beef. Or like I said, water would also work. Enjoy!

  2. These look great! I love pepperocini peppers!

  3. This sounds right up my husbands alley!

  4. Anything you have ever made that I have tried has been really good and the one you just posted I’m going to try it.

Leave a comment