Hot Pepper Jelly

Since I love to cook, I also love to share my treats with those that I love.  For the holidays I normally make homemade goodies for my friends and neighbors.  It used to be just cookies or breads, but this year for my birthday my parents bought me a canning set.  So needless to say, it’s on like Donkey Kong!!  This is my third attempt at canning.  Tonight’s recipe is part of a recipe my dad gave to me combined with tips and trade-offs from the Ball canning website and from friend Amy’s blog

Hot Pepper Jelly

Ingredients:

1 3/4 cup jalapenos, washed, seeded and diced very fine (wear gloves!)

1/2 cup apple cider vinegar

1 cup regular vinegar

6 1/2 cups sugar

1 pouch Certo

drop(s) of red food coloring

Method:

I will assume you know the basic fundamentals of canning how-to’s, but if you don’t the Ball canning website (mentioned above) has great instructions.  Therefore, I will not go into all the step by step details.

In a large nonstick pot, combine the vinegars, sugar and jalapeno and bring to a boil.  Boil for five minutes, then quickly add the pouch of certo and the food coloring.  Boil for one more minute and ladle into hot jars.  Make sure the rim of the jars is clean and place the heated lid on carefully.  Screw the rim on, but don’t tighten all the way.  Process for 10 minutes.  Remove and set aside on a clean towel.  Listen for the “pop”.  Don’t touch for 12-24 hours.

Yield:  6 jars plus a little left over!

When ready to serve, it’s great over cream cheese!

hot pepper jelly 005

Hot Pepper Jelly

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Verdict:  This was NOT an easy thing to do.  Ok really it wasn’t hard, exactly, it was just stressful.  It’s one of those things that you’re doing a lot of things at once.  So just make sure when you make this, you have someone sane there to help you.  My husband helped me and we went over our “game-plan” of who was going to do what beforehand and it went relatively smoothly.  It tastes delicious, he took a plate into the other room and is devouring it as I type this!  It did turn out a little redder than I would have liked – the food coloring came out too fast!  Overall, I’m very pleased with the results and will be making this every year, if my recipients enjoy it!

One response to “Hot Pepper Jelly

  1. That looks great! And no, it’s not easy…I had to do it alone too…hubs was on an errand run. Stupid me. :\

Leave a comment