Egg-Free Chocolate Chip Cookie Cake (or Cookies)

I recently went back to work after staying home with my daughter before she started school.  It’s time I treasure more than anything.  But she went to school so it was time for me to do something.  I was faced with the problem of many (all) parents.  What could I do that would enable me to be there for her when she didn’t have school.  She is an only child so I didn’t want to ship her off to grandparents houses for all the holidays and breaks, while I worked.  Obvious answer – work at her school.  So that’s what I’m doing.  Her school has a nursery for teachers children and that’s where I work.  I love it.

One of “my babies” has an egg allergy.  We have to be careful because so many things have eggs, so for our “Happy Birthday Jesus” party I wanted to make something he could enjoy as well.  I set out looking for an egg-free cookie cake recipe.  I didn’t really find one, but I found an egg-free cookie recipe so figured that would work.  I was a little nervous about the middle of the cookie cake not cooking well and the outside being overcooked, so I just lowered the oven temp.  I had a little dough leftover so I made some cookies and my husband raved over them  He says I should make these always!  The cookie cake came out delicious as well.  It was nice and fluffy.  Now I know what to make for a special nursery treat!

Egg Free Chocolate Chip Cookie Cake

Egg Free Chocolate Chip Cookie Cake

Egg-Free Chocolate Chip Cookie Cake
Recipe from Art of Dessert

Ingredients:

2 cups semi-sweet chocolate chips
1 cup butter, softened
3/4 cup white granulated sugar
3/4 cup brown sugar
8 oz. cream cheese, softened
2 tsp. vanilla
2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
1 tsp. baking soda
1/2 tsp. salt

Method:

For regular cookies, preheat oven to 375 degrees.  For cookie cake, preheat oven to 325.

Sift together flour, baking soda and salt, set aside.  In a mixer, cream together the butter and cream cheese.  Add the sugars and vanilla.  Once smooth, slowly add the dry ingredients.  Mix until a smooth dough forms.  Stir in chocolate chips.  To make a cookie cake, I used an 11-inch tart pan with removable bottom and spread the dough evenly.  Bake until golden colored and the middle no longer jiggles.  If decorating, allow to cool completely.

Leave a comment