Creamy Shrimp Fettuccine

Since it’s been almost two years since my last post and we are living through a pandemic, I thought I’d post some new recipes.  It’s not like I have no time on my hands now.  I’ve actually made a lot of delicious things in the last couple of years but I’ve been so busy that we wind up eating late, which does not help with photography.  I find natural light works best for food.  Also, we moved and where my table is located does not have the best lighting.  I’ll find a way to make it work so I can go back to giving you guys some great recipes.

This recipe was an adaptation of a Cajun Ninja recipe.  His recipes are always delicious, but I adapted to suit my family, as well as what was available at the grocery store.  Some things can be hard to find right now!  This recipe makes enough for two pans of fettuccine, but I only needed one pan so I froze half of the sauce before adding the shrimp.  Now when I want to make it again, I can simply defrost the sauce, cook some shrimp and pasta and mix it together!  Winner winner, shrimp for dinner!

IMG_0770

Creamy Shrimp Fettuccine
Recipe adapted from Cajun Ninja

Ingredients:
2 lbs. shrimp, peeled/deveined (I used one pound and will do another when I use the frozen sauce)
1 tsp. garlic salt
1 tbsp. Creole seasoning
1 cap of liquid crab boil (use 1/2 cap if only cooking one lb of shrimp)
1 tbsp olive oil
1 onion, chopped
1 bell pepper, chopped
2 sticks of salted butter
2 tsp minced garlic
1 can Mild Rotel
1 can Cream of Chicken (I used heart healthy and it was fine)
1 can chicken broth
1 pint half and half
16 oz. block Velveeta, cut into cubes
2 packs (12 oz) Fettuccine noodles, cooked (use one pack if only cooking one pan)
2 9×13 casserole dishes or aluminum pans.

Method:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

Prepare the shrimp:  In a small bowl, combine the peeled shrimp with the crab boil, garlic salt, Creole seasoning, and set aside.  If you are freezing half your sauce you will use 1 lb. of shrimp with half a cap of crab boil.  If you are cooking two pans, you will use two pounds of shrimp with the full cap of crab boil.

Cook the sauce:  In a large pot, melt the two sticks of butter.  Once melted, add your onion, bell pepper, and garlic.  Cook until the vegetables are softened, about 20 minutes.  Next, add the Rotel and combine well.  Stir in the Cream of Chicken, chicken broth, and half and half.  Allow to heat through, then slowly add the Velveeta, stirring to combine fully.

Cook the shrimp:  In a small pot, heat olive oil and add the shrimp.  Cook, flipping until just pink.

Combine and Bake:  At this point, if you are going to freeze half of your sauce, use a measuring cup or ladle and spoon half of it into a bowl to cool.  Add the shrimp to the remaining half.  If you are making the full batch, you will be adding in two pounds of shrimp to the full pot of sauce.  If you are freezing half of your sauce, you will be adding 1 pound of shrimp to the sauce still in the pot.  Mix with pasta (either one pack or two, depending on how much you are making).  Put into casserole dish(es) greased with cooking spray and cover with foil.  Bake for 20 minutes.

Dig in:  Allow to cool for a few minutes and serve hot with salad and garlic bread.

IMG_0775

Leave a comment